Category: Blog

YouTube Creator Playbook

Create video content to leverage the power of YouTube (the 2nd largest search engine). Make sure the last few seconds of every video provides a call to action (for example, watch our next video or provide a link so the viewer can sign up for your e-newsletter).

The YouTube Creator Playbook walks you through the steps to help create, plan, and implement a YouTube content creation strategy.

playbook-home-primaryillustration

Great Tools and Resources

Google Fonts allows web designers and web developers to create websites, web applications, and blogs with fonts that people don’t need to have installed on their computers. Using a very simple process of linking to one of Google’s fonts in their library, you are able to display a beautiful custom font throughout the interwebs.

ContentGems is like having a team of savvy spider monkeys searching the web for the best sharable content. You choose the topics and they willl send you daily alerts featuring a carefully curated list of matching content.

Canva is a free design tool aimed at beginners and professionals alike. Canva makes design simple for everyone. Create designs for web or print: blog graphics, presentations, Facebook covers, flyers, posters, invitations and so much more.

canva

Interesting Stats and Quotes

46% think website design is #1 for deciding if a company is legit. – Kim Garst

70% of visitors who abandon your website will never return. Don’t give them a reason leave.” – Syed Balkhi

“Visuals express ideas in a snackable way.” – Kim Garst

“A great image acts as a preview to a bigger show.” – Donna Moritz

“Your website is the mousetrap. Your content is the cheese.” – Barry Feldman

“The only things you truly own (as a business) are your website, your content, and your email list. You’re only renting space on social media.” – Andy Crestodina

“The key to marketing your company is educate, educate, educate, earn trust, and then sell.” – Syed Balkhi

Great People to Follow on Twitter  
Mike Stelzner – @mike_stelzner
Kim Garst – @kimgarst
Andy Crestodina – @crestodina
Mark Schaefer – @markwschaefer
Mari Smith – @marismith
Syed Balkhi – @syedbalkhi
Bryan Kramer – @bryankramer
Ian Cleary – @iancleary

And of course, Perry Productions – @perryprosmm

Using Google Suggest for Content Ideas

Creating content for your website and email marketing is critical to getting found online by new customers (website/blog) and staying relevant to existing ones (email). But don’t write just to write. Spend some time finding out what people are searching for online and then write about that. Here’s a great tool that you can start using.

Google Suggest: Go to Google and type in a question word plus your product/service. The results will tell you the top items that people are searching for on Google. This creates instant ideas for content and you can curate content on the spot.

google suggest2

You can also write about frequently asked questions that you receive or ask your clients about their experience (their story) with your company.